Social Justice Calendar of Western Massachusetts

Loading Events

Events for April 16, 2021

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

All Day

Silent Auction for Peace and Justice

April 11 - April 23

About Our Auction
The Resistance Center needs your help! For a small nonprofit, this year hasn't been easy. As The Resistance Center moved to remote organizing, grappling with the uncertainty of the pandemic and its socioeconomic effects, we realized that the only way to keep up with our vital work is by growing - which we can only do with YOUR support. We are raising funds to hire a full-time organizer, continue our youth internship program, anti-war organizing, host informative webinars, and expand our programmatic work. Browse our lots and bid on your favorites in the name of growing peacework throughout the Valley and beyond!

Find out more »

Ongoing

Social Work , White Supremacy, and Racial Justice

April 15 @ 12:30 pm - April 16 @ 4:30 pm

Join us LIVE on YouTube and Facebook!
Social Work, White Supremacy, and Racial Justice Symposium: Strategies for Achieving Racial Justice in Social Work Education
Social work has a complex history of upholding White supremacy alongside a goal to achieve racial justice. Moreover, our profession simultaneously practices within racist systems and works to dismantle them. In the wake of a fervent #BlackLivesMatter movement and persistent racial disparities in key social welfare institutions, these paradoxes have come to the forefront of discussion in academic and practice circles. This unique moment presents an opportunity to interrogate our profession’s relationship to White supremacy and racial justice in order to reimagine an anti-racist future.

We hope you’ll join us for a four-part series of virtual symposia that will address these themes. Symposium events will occur throughout the academic year and will address different aspects of our past, present, and future. Additional information and specific dates are below.

*You will only need to register for one day. The ticket you receive will allow you to participate in both days of the symposium streaming live via YouTube.

If you would like to SUBMIT A QUESTION for Social Work, White Supremacy, and Racial Justice Symposium: Strategies for Achieving Racial Justice in Social Work Education (part 4) please click here. If your question is specific to a current PANEL or SPEAKER please include that in your question.

Part 4: Strategies for Achieving Racial Justice in Social Work Education
April 15 & 16, 2021, 12:30 – 4:30 PM Eastern
Part 4 continues the exploration of our anti-racist future and the role of social work education in helping to achieve this. What is the future of social work education, and what are the strategies we need to employ to achieve racial justice in social work education?

DAILY SCHEDULE
THURSDAY, APRIL 15, 2021
WELCOME ADDRESS
9:30PST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST - Welcome to the Symposium

Laura S. Abrams, Sandra Crewe, Alan Dettlaff, James Herbert Williams

PANEL 1 - Dismantling Anti-Racist Pedagogies in Social Work Education
10:00-11:30 PST/12:00 - 1:30 CST/1:00-2:30 EST

Resistant Research: A Critical Trauma Theory to Uplift the Language of Those Unheard- Black, Indigenous and Social Work Students of Color

Anna Nelson, MSW, LCSW

Advancing Culturally Disruptive Pedagogies to Dismantle Anti-Black Racism in the Generalist Social Work Curriculum

Vannessa Gharbi, MSW, LCSW; Tiffany D. Baffour, PhD, MSS, MA

Unsettling Indigenous Racism within Social Work: Considerations for Anti-Colonial Social Work Education

Anita Vaillancourt, BSW/H, MSW, PhD; Shirley Chau, BSW, MSW, PhD

PANEL 2 -Envisioning a future for Social Work: Looking Back, Looking Forward
12:00-1:30 PST/2:00 - 3:30 CST/3:00-4:30 EST

Taking a Look in the Mirror to See the Future: Equitable Creative Placemaking and Social Work

Chandra Crudup, PhD, MSW; Chris Fike, MS, LLMSW; Claire McLoone, LMSW

Envisioning an Antiracist Profession: Social work's quest for truth, reconciliation, and social justice

Ebony Perez, PhD, MSW; Anna Nelson, MSW, LCSW

LatCrit and Social Work Epistemology - Dismantling Whiteness in Ways of Knowing

Susan Nakaoka, MA, MSW, PhD; Larry Ortiz, PhD, MSW; Adriana Aldana, MSW, PhD

FRIDAY, APRIL 16, 2021
PANEL 1 - Whiteness and White Supremacy: Theory, Education, and Practice
9:30-11:00 PST/11:30 - 1:00 CST/12:30-2:00 EST

Managing White Fragility: Teaching While Black

Yolanda Spears, LMSW

Presentation (2) TBD

Imagining the End of Racism through Ending White Supremacy: Implications for Social Work Education and Practice

Martell Teasley, PhD, MSW; Melissa Smith Haley, MSW, LMSW

PANEL 2 - Anti-Racist, Anti-Oppressive Social Work Education and Practice
11:30-1:00 PST/1:30 - 3:00 CST/ 2:30-4:00 EST

Resisting curriculum violence and developing anti-oppressive, trauma-informed, culturally sustaining approaches for social work education and practice

Caroline Sharkey, LCSW; Christopher Strickland, MSW; Jennifer Elkins, MSSW, PhD

Building the Skills of Imagination for an Anti-Racist Future

Charla Cannon Yearwood, MSSW, LSW; Chey Davis MA, MSW Candidate

Developing an Anti-Racist Social Work Curriculum

Braveheart Gillani, MSW; Flora Cohen, LMSW

CLOSING REMARKS
1:00-1:30 PST /3:00 - 3:30 CST/ 4:00-4:30 EST

Find out more »
+ Export Events

To submit an event via email, email calendar@theresistancecenter.org
If you have any suggestions, questions, or problems with this calendar, please email us or call us at (413) 584-8975