Social Justice Calendar of Western Massachusetts

Loading Events

« All Events

How to beat an election-related power grab by Donald Trump

September 30 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 7:30 pm on Wednesday, repeating until September 30, 2020

September 23, 2020 – 7:30pm to September 24, 2020 – 9:30pm
Zoom Webinar
CHOOSE DEMOCRACY presents a two-session national workshop led by George Lakey, with Zein Nakhoda

Part 1 of 2: Wednesday, September 23, 4:30pm PT / 6:30pm CT / 7:30pm ET
Part 2 of 2: Wednesday, September 30, 4:30pm PT / 6:30pm CT / 7:30pm ET

This pilot workshop has two parts; each session is two hours and attendance at both sessions is required. Workshops will be held in the Zoom platform.

There’s a chance that a desperate Trump will respond to a narrow victory by Biden by declaring the election fraudulent, urging his base to support his continued Presidency. This training will share the most important things to know and practice in order to be ready for that possibility. This workshop is non-partisan and does not endorse any candidates for election.

Facilitators:

George Lakey has led over 1500 workshops on five continents. He co-founded and led Training for Change before becoming the Eugene M. Lang Professor for Issues in Social Change at Swarthmore College; previously he’d taught at Penn and the Martin Luther King School of Social Change. His first arrest was in a civil rights sit-in and he was arrested in January at the Capitol for demanding urgent action on the climate crisis. He’s published ten books on change, including How We Win: A Guide to Nonviolent Direct Action Campaigning (Melville House, 2018).

Zein Nakhoda (he/him) is a Core Trainer and Director at Training for Change. He’s supported organizing and capacity-building for climate, economic, and racial justice for 10 years. He’s trained hundreds of organizers and activists across the country, including around direct action, popular education methods, and organizing skills. He’s a South Asian, cis-man, who also makes film and community media.

Register Here

Details

Date:
September 30
Time:
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Website:
https://trainingforchange.ourpowerbase.net/how-to-beat-election-related-power-grab

Organizer

Resistance Studies Initiative
Email:
resist@umass.edu
Website:
https://www.umass.edu/resistancestudies/

Venue

online

To submit an event via email, email calendar@theresistancecenter.org
If you have any suggestions, questions, or problems with this calendar, please email us or call us at (413) 584-8975